The Students' Union Awards for Excellence in Learning & Teaching have been monthly awards to recognise outstanding staff at the University of Portsmouth, culminating in the Overall Impact Award which allows us to recognise the most outstanding lecturers. 

The criteria of the awards are:

  • Use of new and creative teaching initiatives to engage students
  • Provision of extra academic support, beyond usual expectations
  • Creation of a community of collegial learning amongst students and staff
  • Provision of outstanding pastoral and personal support
  • Excellence in student and staff collaboration
  • Excellence in facilitating and utilising the student voice

This year we have had 260 nominations for 122 individuals. It has been incredibly hard to narrow down to our shortlist, and we would like to congratulate everyone who was nominated.

The final shortlist is:

Andrew J Williams, School of Health Science & Social Work

Bernard Davies, Portsmouth Law School

Carmen Pasamar, School of Languages and Area Studies

Chris Milner, Operations & Systems Management

David Loydell, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Ed Stoddard, School of Social, Historical and Literary Studies

Emma Austin, School of Media and Performing Arts

Hooshyar Assadullahi, School of Earth and Environmental Sciences

Jo Park, School of Education and Childhood Studies

Kevin McHugh, School of Health Sciences & Social Work

Lisa Sugiura, Institute of Criminal Justice Studies

Liz Twigg, Department of Geography

Paul Joyce, School of Languages and Area Studies

Roger Moore, Department of Psychology

The winner of the Overall Impact Award 2018 will be announced at the Union Awards & Showcase on Tuesday 24th April. You have until midday on Tuesday 17th April to purchase your tickets here.

You can view the full list of nominees here: Overall Impact Nominee List 2018